Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Serves - which foot forward?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
cole_ely View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cole_ely Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Serves - which foot forward?
    Posted: 03/30/2020 at 7:03pm
So I was self-taught and always naturally served out of the normal stance that you would hit out of.  I loved serving but focused on just the amount and direction, and being able to place the ball.  

Later in college I saw people doing the off foot forward hidden spin thing.  My reaction was that I would be just as well served to keep focusing on getting my normal serves better, and hiding through motion.  In the long run I'd say it was a correct decision given the rule changes a few years back.

Now I see that every serve tutorial shows the off foot forward, even though hidden serves are technically a thing of the distant past.  Is this a useless appendage of an age gone by, or am I missing some other reason to put the off foot forward?

Edited by cole_ely - 03/30/2020 at 7:05pm
Wavestone St with Illumina 1.9r, defender1.7b

Please let me know if I can be of assistance.
Sponsored Links

JediJesseS View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JediJesseS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/30/2020 at 9:32pm
If you are serving from the BH corner, I think off foot forward makes it easier to spring off that foot and get into ready position. 
cole_ely View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cole_ely Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/30/2020 at 10:24pm
Originally posted by JediJesseS JediJesseS wrote: