Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Can looping get addictive/habitual?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
pingponger View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pingponger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can looping get addictive/habitual?
    Posted: 12/18/2012 at 3:39am
For those who loop, I just wanted to know if it's your default shot (i.e., use it as much as the situation allows).  I'm still learning to loop.
Since I learned to use topspin in tennis, my baseline shots became spinnier as time went on, even to a point that I was losing often because I couldn't hit flat, non-spin shots when the situation called for them.
Can this happen in TT?  Do you find yourself looping when a flatter drive would have won you the point earlier?  Just curious.

Sponsored Links

blahness View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blahness Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12/18/2012 at 4:24am
There is less emphasis on flat hits nowadays because you need spin to ensure consistency when hitting hard (esp for balls which are either low or deep). High balls or short balls can be flat hit much easier. 

The so called "drives" in table tennis are in fact hard loops, as you cannot drive at high speeds without spin, as spin is the component that ensures that your shots curve down to the table instead of missing the table end. The best shots are the drive-loops that have both enormous speed and enormous spin in them. 

Since you're a beginner, the best thing that you can do now is to do a lot of practise in this 3 areas. 

1) counterhitting (basically drives) both BH and FH 
2) pushing
3) serve (basically practice in the production of different kinds of spin, which will also help your progress in pushing)