FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Need rubber advice for a 1-ply Hinoki Jpen

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
psongjh View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote psongjh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Need rubber advice for a 1-ply Hinoki Jpen
    Posted: 04/22/2015 at 12:11pm
Hi everyone!

I'm new to this forum, but I've been getting much good advice here for the past few months.  Allow me to introduce myself first:

I've been playing table tennis on and off for the past 20 years, but I've only gotten serious about it for the past few months. Kim Taek Soo and Yoo Nam Kyu being my role models, I started playing as a penholder and remained that way. I've tried switching over to Cpen for RPB, but I'm so used to the light and fast Jpen blades I find myself going back to it eventually.

Currently, I'm using Nittaku Airuline 8.8 1-ply Hinoki blade with Sriver L 1.9 without speed glue. I've experimented with JUIC Scramble 2.0 (ripped off from my old blade), Stiga J.M.S Evo 2.0 (trying something with more control) and 802-40 2.0 (for that flat hitting experience). I quickly decided that pips isn't my cup of tea (maybe I'll try it again later), and went back to Sriver (which was the first real rubber I used as a kid).

I find myself generally as a close to the table flat hitter who wants some spin in his serves. I'm slowly developing my pushes and blocks, and my greatest weakness is dealing with incoming spin. I've been getting comments that my playing style is generally aggressive, and that Sriver may be a bit slow for my style.

OK, so here's my question:
What would be a good rubber choice for my Hinoki blade, which is 1) faster, 2) generates as much spin and 3) has similar sensitivity to incoming spin as Sriver L?

I've heard Stiga Mendo MP may be a good choice but since I don't use speed glue, should I go for ones with built-in speed glue effect?