Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Some thoughts and anxieties from an older learner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Some thoughts and anxieties from an older learner

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Simon_plays View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon_plays Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Some thoughts and anxieties from an older learner
    Posted: 05/15/2015 at 1:06am
Hi everyone,

Sorry for taking up a whole new topic with my first proper post but I hope the things I'd like to raise here can lead to some interesting discussion from more seasoned players.

I'm a 32 year old beginner who's only started playing 9 months ago. In this time I've almost exclusively played with a coach, about three times a week, so as to get good basics first. Below are some questions that I have. I much appreciate if anyone cares to share their thoughts on any of the points.

1) How long will it take me till I can play with more experiences players without it feeling like they're doing me a favour? I've had a look at the thread about hitting with higher and lower players but what's people's estiamte on this?

2) As I'm older, should I try and train my fitness as much as younger players, or will this wreck my knees etc?

3) Following the advice of my coach I bought a TB Spirit with Tenergy 80 on the FH and Tenergy 64 on the BH. However, I worry that this setup might slow my progress and lead to me picking up bad habits. Any thoughts?

4) Do I have to learn the cross-step to become a decent player? I just can't seem to manage it.

5) What sort of level can I hope to reach with 3 sessions with a coach a week?

6) Will learning serves get easier soon?

7) Will returning serves ever get easier?

8) My coach beats me left-handed (he's right-handed...) whenever we play. Should this worry me.

Any answers much appreciated. StarSmile