Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Receiving a fast serve

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
kitkit890 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kitkit890 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Receiving a fast serve
    Posted: 09/28/2015 at 8:55am
Hello guys. A fast serve has been my weakness since I started playing TT. Although I've already mastered receiving a fast topspin serve by blocking it  (or chopping sometimes), I am now faced with a new problem.

This friend of mine who has more TT experience than me has a variety of serves in his arsenal. be it heavy/light backspin, a tomahawk, pendulum and reverse pendulum, he has it. My problem is when he does his fast pendulum serve. When I block it, it has an overwhelming amount of sidespin that the ball throws off outside the table (in my case, my right side). I can't chop it since it goes to my backhand and I don't have full mastery of the RPB yet, so I have difficulty receiving it.

My friend realized it as my weakness, so he has this 50% chance of winning an easy point everytime he serves. The only time I can return it is when I luckily guess that he'll use that serve and I can easily use my RPB against it. 

He uses the same arm movement when doing a slow, spinny pendulum serve and a fast, also spinny one, so I can't read it that effectively.

Any tips? Thanks in advance. :)
Blade: 729 Bomb (penhold)
FH: DHS Hurricane III Neo
BH: 729 Focus III Snipe
Sponsored Links

NextLevel View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NextLevel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/28/2015 at 9:10am
Racket angles!  Sidespin is not that overwhelming - you are just aiming too far to the backhand.  Aim more for the center of the table or for the forehand side and you will be fine.