FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Review: Mizutani Jun ZLC

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
h0n1g View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote h0n1g Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Review: Mizutani Jun ZLC
    Posted: 04/23/2017 at 1:21pm
Background: I've been playing TT for about 20 years now. I've had two signficant breaks of ~ 4 years each. My coach is estimating my level at around 1800-1850. I have played with the MJZLC for approximately 30 hours. EL-S 2.0's were used on both forehand and backhand. I've tested the ST version of the blade.

Initial Impressions: The blade is very well made. No sharp edges, no imperfections or paint blur. It looks very sharp and has a good feel to it. When bouncing the ball on the blade without rubbers on, you immediately feel that its very springy, something that I've felt with almost all carbon based blades i've tried. Due to its limba veneers, the MJZLC has a nice, soft feel to it, something that makes you initially wonder if the speed will be there. Loops give you a nice curve and it feels very easy to lift the ball with this blade. Spin is plenty, I would say that this blade generates spin more easily than both the MJSZLC and the Barewell Fleet.

Speed: The MJZLC is rated OFF. I would definitely agree with that rating; perhaps I would even put it between OFF and OFF+. To give a few comparisons of speed: MJSZLC > MJZLC > Barwell Fleet = Waldner89 > Acoustic Carbon > Violin. This is without a doubt a (very) fast blade. However, the build structure of the blade does a good job 'hiding' this.