Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Using a grip wrap? pro/con?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AL_in_MN View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AL_in_MN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Using a grip wrap? pro/con?
    Posted: 11/13/2008 at 2:12pm
I have been using a grip wrap for about 4 years now, after trying it from a partner's recommendation. I use a tacky tennis racket grip and cut it to size. The experience has been totally positive, found it increased my control, nice firm feeling in the hand, does not slip when sweaty. Also I have not noticed any downside in terms of sensitivity or touch, although there is a slight dampening effect compared to gripping the bare wood.

I play in one small club and one good-sized club, and have noticed that very few other plays use a grip wrap, and  I am interested in the opinions others may have on the pros/cons of using a grip wrap. I notice many pro tennis players use them, but few table tennis players seem to.

Thoughts or comments welcome, especially from those who have experimented with this.
Sponsored Links

varghesep View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote varghesep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/13/2008 at 2:27pm
I used to get blisters on my palm. This was a problem when I was playing badminton too. I have used all kinds of overgrips. The problem is that when you use an overgrip, you lose the touch with the blade. I don't use it because I manuever my paddle a lot and it gives me a lot of control if I dont use any overgrip.

I occassionally use Dr.Neubauer Combi blade which has a very soft handle. To keep the handle clean as well as to get a hard feeling, I use gauze overgrip. They are very thin and can throw away after a use. A roll will run for at least 10 - 15 paddles, and it is only less than $5.