Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Help on choosing new equipment

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
HaoFZ View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaoFZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help on choosing new equipment
    Posted: 12/01/2006 at 12:53am
Im relatively new to TT but I have been playing casually for some time. Recently joined a club along with my sister (gosh you guys got no idea how hard it is to find those in Montreal) and I just wanted to hear some advices on the equipment to get for myself and my sister.

Currently I have been playing with an Andro Kinetic CF Titanium ALL+ w/ dual carbo sound 2.0 and the rubber combination proved to be way too fast for my skills hindering my consistency during practices and matches. Im expecting to change them soon enough and I was thinking of having Hurricane 2 fh and Plasma 380 bh both 2.0. I need slightly more control on my bh as I have switched from penhold to shakehand and still did not caught up on skills and this will allow me to practice chopping as well.

As for my sister she was only using those pre-made bats to develop her technique, and she has improved enough to want to produce spin. After watching her play, she is not a very agressive type of player and doesnt like to take risks. She would like to develop her game into a modern defender I thought of getting her the proper equipment for it but Im not sure if it's too early. I thought of getting her a STIGA Tube Def as her blade using control rubber sheets. I dont know if she should get straight or flared handle, there is too many different answers on this matter and I would like to get your opinion. Does straight handle give defensive players any advantage?