Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Young Table Tennis development

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Jepoyako View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jepoyako Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Young Table Tennis development
    Posted: 04/09/2008 at 6:09pm
I have 5 & 4 year old daughters that I would like to train up in table tennis. I'm new to the sport and am personally trying to learn as much as I can as fast as I can. What can I teach my girls at this early age? Any hand eye coordination exercises?

Thanks!
I like Twinkies!
Sponsored Links

DeathAngel View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DeathAngel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04/09/2008 at 6:27pm
Just start them out with bouncing the ball on the paddle and getting a feel for it.

Than teach them the basic strokes (forhand, backhand, push, chop, serve) without the ball, and than eventually incorperate the ball.
Korbel ST
H3 Neo 2.2
Desto F3 2.0

USA: 1522
CAN: 809
JKC View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JKC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04/09/2008 at 6:33pm
Play lots of ball sports which involve catching, hitting and even kicking balls to get them used to how balls travel and bounce and how to intercept them as they move. Give them a small light TT bat and bounce a ball to them in a room with a hard floor. Get them to try to hit the ball at first and later hit the ball in a controlled manner back to you. This is how I started with Fred and he seems to be doing fine at the moment.

Sorry to those of you who have seen it, but must keep my viewing figures up.